Siavash Farzan

 |  News  |  Research  |  Teaching  |  Service  |  Research Team  |  Contact  | 

I lead a group of graduate and undergraduate students to develop safety-critical and robust planning and control algorithms for autonomous robotic systems such as underactuated robots, ground and aerial vehicles, and robot manipulators.

Research Team

Current Students   (append wpi.edu to email addresses)

Rohith Venkataramanan (rvenkataramanan@)
Graduate Student, WPI, Summer 2022 - Present

Research interests: vision-based robotic manipulation

Jidnyesha Patil (jpatil@)
Graduate Student, WPI, Summer 2022 - Present

Research interests: motion planning and control, autonomous vehicles

Harin Vashi (hvashi@)
Graduate Student, WPI, Summer 2022 - Present

Research interests: motion planning and control, autonomous vehicles

Aditya Patil (apatil@)
Graduate Student, WPI, Summer 2022 - Present

Research interests: robust adaptive control, quadrotor aerial vehicles

Khizar Amjed Mohamed (kamjedmohamed@)
Graduate Student, WPI, Fall 2022 - Present

Research interests: learning-based control, underactuated robots

Past Students

Shiva Tekumatla (stekumatla@)
Graduate Student, WPI, Fall 2021 - Spring 2022

Research interests: underactuated robotics, controls, learning-based control

Ghokulji Selvaraj (gselvaraj@)
Graduate Student, WPI, Fall 2021 - Spring 2022

Research interests: robotic vision, deep learning, robotic manipulation

Wael Mohammed (wmohammed@)
Graduate Student, WPI, Spring 2022

Research interests: vision-based robotic manipulation

Pranav Moorthy (pmoorthy@)
Graduate Student, WPI, Summer 2022

Research interests: controls, quadrotor aerial vehicles

Yichen Guo (yguo2@)
Undergraduate Student, WPI, Summer 2022

Research interests: robust control, ROS-based mobile robots

Senior Capstone Design (MQP) Teams
Stair-Capable Robot Vacuum

Benjamin Draper and Sawyer Wofford (co-advised with Jing Xiao)
Undergraduate Students, WPI, Fall 2021 - Spring 2022

Areas: novel robotic mechanism design, feedback control, embedded systems

"Winner of the 2022 Provost's MQP Award for Robotics Engineering"

A Hopping Two-Wheeled Segway Robot

Christian Defranco, Brian Desousa, and Samuel Mwangi
Undergraduate Students, WPI, Fall 2021 - Spring 2022

Areas: novel robotic mechanism design, feedback control, ROS-enabled embedded systems