CPSquare: Cal Poly Cyber-Physical Systems Lab

 |  Home  |  Research  |  Publications  |  Team  |  Teaching  |  Service  | 

Research Team

Principal Investigator

Siavash Farzan (sfarzan@)
Assistant Professor, Cal Poly

I lead a group of graduate and undergraduate students to develop safety-critical and robust planning and control algorithms for autonomous cyber-physical systems such as autonomous vahicles, aerial drones, and robot manipulators.

I'm consistently seeking ambitious graduate and undergraduate students interested in cyber-physical systems and robotics. If you're motivated by addressing fundamental challenges for autonomous systems and are considering theoretical/experimental research collaborations with me at Cal Poly or WPI, feel free to contact me at sfarzan@calpoly.edu.

Research Scientists

Vishrut Bohara (vbohara@)
Postgraduate Associate, Cal Poly, 2024 - Present

Research interests: safety-critical control, autonomous vehicles, unmanned aerial vehicles

Graduate Students

Chinmayee Prabhakar (cprabhakar@)
Graduate Student, WPI, 2023 - Present

Research interests: learning-based coordinated control, unmanned aerial vehicles

Swati Shirke (svshirke@)
Graduate Student, WPI, 2024 - Present

Research interests: safety-critical planning and control

Undergraduate Research Teams

The Road Ahead: Pioneering Control and Planning for Self-Driving Cars
Wesley Luu, Nayeli Mateo, Dylan Sandall, Wilson Szeto, Alfred Tran
Undergraduate Students, Cal Poly, Winter 2024 - Summer 2024
Learning Aligned Employment Program (LAEP)

Areas: self-driving cars, control, state estimation, sensor fusion

Drive to Succeed: Empowering Underserved Communities through Autonomous Driving Education
Amanda Chan
Undergraduate Students, Cal Poly, Summer 2024
Summer Undergraduate Research Program (SURP)

Advanced Localization and Grasping Sensor Technologies for Autonomous Robotic Apple Harvesting
Chris Bae, Gabriel Basus
Undergraduate Students, Cal Poly, Summer 2024
Summer Undergraduate Research Program (SURP)

Collective Localization and Dynamic Formation Control for UAV Swarms
Dmitri Dobrynin, Indigo Garcia
Undergraduate Students, Cal Poly, Summer 2024
Summer Undergraduate Research Program (SURP)


Alumni
Akshay Jaitly (ajaitly@) Graduate Student, WPI, 2023-24 (now at Mitsubishi Electric Research Labs)
Thesis title: Polytopic Action-Set and Motion Planning with Learned Polytopic Representations of Behaviors
Chaitanya Gaddipati (cgaddipati@)   Graduate Student, WPI, 2023 - 2024
Research interests: control of PDE systems, robust/adaptive control
Varun Gampa (vgampa@)   Graduate Student, WPI, 2023 - 2024 (now at ArcBest)
Research interests: learning-based control, model predective control
Sumeet Shanbhag (sshanbhag1@)   Graduate Student, WPI, 2023 - 2024
Research interests: motion planning, autonomous vehicles, sim2real transfer
Vishrut Bohara (vbohara@)   Graduate Student, WPI, 2023 (now at Nokia Bell Labs)
Thesis title: Estimation-based Safety-Critical Control of Multi-Agent Robotic Systems
Shiva Tekumatla (stekumatla@)   Graduate Student, WPI, 2021-22   (now at Honeywell)
Research interests: underactuated robotics, controls, learning-based control
Ghokulji Selvaraj (gselvaraj@)   Graduate Student, WPI, 2021-22
Research interests: robotic vision, deep learning, agricultural robotics
Wael Mohammed (wmohammed@)   Graduate Student, WPI, 2022   (now at Berkshire Grey)
Research interests: vision-based robotic manipulation
Yichen Guo (yguo2@)   Undergraduate Student, WPI, 2022   (now at Cornell)
Research interests: robust control, ROS-based mobile robots
Tian Yu (Annie) Fan (tfan@)   Graduate Student, WPI, 2022   (now at MathWorks)
Research interests: robot manipulation and control
Khizar Mohamed (kamjedmohamed@) Graduate Student, WPI, 2022 (now at Boardwalk Robotics)
Research interests: learning-based control, underactuated robots
Jidnyesha Patil (jpatil@)   Graduate Student, WPI, 2022   (now at Smartapp)
Research interests: motion planning and control, autonomous vehicles
Aditya Patil (apatil@)   Graduate Student, WPI, 2022   (now at ArcBest)
Research interests: robust adaptive control, quadrotor aerial vehicles
Rohith Venkataramanan (rvenkataramanan@)   Graduate Student, WPI, 2022-23   (now at UltraFlex)
Thesis title: Perception-Driven Robotic Manipulation and Motion Planning for Packaging of Dynamic Compressible Objects
Harin Vashi (hvashi@)   Graduate Student, WPI, 2022-23   (now at Outrider)
Research interests: motion planning, multi-agent systems
Harshal Bhat (hbhat@)   Graduate Student, WPI, 2023
Research interests: distributed probabilistic filtering, multi-agent systems

Senior Capstone Design Teams
Drone Swarms for Search and Rescue Missions
Anderson MacMillan, Wyatt Colburn, Rushabh Shah, Chris Shor
Undergraduate Students, Cal Poly, Fall 2023 - Spring 2024

Areas: localization, control, embedded systems

Autonomous Apple Harvesting Robot
Jack Cline, Tyus Green, Devon Woolston
Undergraduate Students, Cal Poly, Fall 2023 - Spring 2024

Areas: manipulation, grasping, navigation

Cal Poly Combat Robot, Electrical System
Kelvin Villago
Undergraduate Student, Cal Poly, Fall 2023 - Spring 2024

Areas: embedded systems, PCB design

Stair-Capable Robot Vacuum
Benjamin Draper and Sawyer Wofford (co-advised with Jing Xiao)
Undergraduate Students, WPI, Fall 2021 - Spring 2022

Areas: novel robotic mechanism design, feedback control, embedded systems

"Winner of the 2022 Provost's MQP Award for Robotics Engineering"

A Hopping Two-Wheeled Segway Robot
Christian Defranco, Brian Desousa, and Samuel Mwangi
Undergraduate Students, WPI, Fall 2021 - Spring 2022

Areas: novel robotic mechanism design, feedback control, ROS-enabled embedded systems

Small-Size Soccer Robots
Spencer Belleville, Conner Christinsen, Ashley Espeland, David Lapointe, Noah Page, Logan Rinaldi, Nathan Rogers, Benjamin Schwantes, Evan Vadeboncoeur, Yifei Zhao
Undergraduate Students, WPI, Fall 2022 - Spring 2023

Areas: multi-agent systems, motion planning, embeeded systems, mechatronics

Robotic CNC Tending Work Cell with Remote Access
Brian Francis, Mayank Govilla, Nikolas Neathery
Undergraduate Students, WPI, Fall 2022 - Spring 2023

Areas: robotic manipulation, system integration, motion planning